Hope Lutheran Church

Voters' Assembly Minutes

April 24, 2022

The regular meeting of the voters' assembly of Hope Lutheran Church was called to order on April 24, 2022, at 11:50 a.m. MDT by the president, Christopher Becker; the secretary was present. A quorum was established; a list of voting members present is attached.

Pr. Pay led the opening prayer.

Grace Ruiz, Rev. Jerry and LuAnne Powers, Melody Rosenwinkel, and James Zillinger were voted into voting membership.

The January 23, 2022, minutes were approved as emailed.

Whitney St. Michel gave the treasurer's report on church finances.

Ed Reber, Day School Treasurer, announced that we just received word that we will get another early childhood grant of \$8,500 per month, for a total of \$93,500. After some discussion of the proposed school budget, it was moved by Nancy and seconded that when we adjourn, we adjourn to continue this meeting in two weeks and resume discussion of the school budget. Motion carried.

It was moved by Betty Oloff and seconded that we apply for a Catalyst grant and a Kaleidoscope grant for the school. The Catalyst request will be for IT upgrades, Kaleidoscope will be for library and other materials for our classical curriculum.

The remaining Board reports stand as written.

On behalf of the Strategic Planning Committee, Kurt Pavlat asked that we each vote for our top three of the five options the committee presented. These options and the votes are:

- 1. An outdoor pavilion—12
- 2. A new multi-purpose building—20
- 3. A new classroom building—17
- 4. Remodel and upgrade our current building—12
- 5. Sell and re-locate—5

The Safety Committee report and Pastor's report stand as written.

New Business

Christopher announced that he had made the following appointments:

- Financial Review Committee: Grace Ruiz and Melody Rosenwinkel
- Nominating committee members: David Van Haaften, Bill and JoAnn Jepsen, and Vivian Glick. (The bylaws place Pastor Pay on the committee.) The offices and elective positions to be filled in July are:

President

Director of the Board of Outreach

Director of the Board of Youth Ministry

Director of the Board of Properties

Financial Secretary

Day School Treasurer

Strategic Planning Committee Member at Large (Position A)

After amendment the following policy was adopted:

Effective in Calendar Year 2023, the housing allowance for each ordained or commissioned minister of religion serving Hope is an amount each year up to 100 percent of that person's gross annual compensation. Annual gross compensation is comprised of salary and fuel allowance (if fuel allowance is provided).

Nancy Carlson handed out information on the deterioration of our west parking lot that she had just received (attached). The contractors recommend that we remove the old material and install a new base and asphalt. This could be done on 1/3 of the parking lot at a time. After discussion this was referred to the Strategic Planning Committee.

The meeting adjourned at 1:35 p.m. MDT with the Lord's Prayer, to reconvene in two weeks (May 8th).

Myrtle Siefken, Secretary

Approved September 12, 2019